The Steve Gibbons Band

Ridin’ Out The Dark (Live In Hamburg 1990) (RGF/SGCD 062)

CD: THE STEVE GIBBONS BANDRoad Goes On Forever Records are proud to work with Steve Gibbons. 2007 is the tenth anniversary of our relationship with Steve, and we are pleased to mark the anniversary with another reissue from his back catalogue, the ninth album in a continuing series which now includes three double albums and three single albums.

The new album. ‘Ridin’ Out The Dark (Live In Hamburg 1990)’ has been unavailable for most of the 21st Century. It was previously released under the title of ‘Ridin’ Out The Dark ’by a German independent label, but has never previously been freely available in Britain.

The Steve Gibbons Band which was recorded for this live album featured Steve (lead vocals, guitar), P.J.Wright (guitar, vocals), Jock Evans (guitar), Brian Badhams (bass guitar, vocals) and Brendan Day (drums), and the seven bonus tracks include contributions from, among others, Robbie Blunt (guitar, later with Robert Plant), Trevor Burton (guitar, ex-The Move), Nick Pentelow (saxophone) and drummer Alan “Sticky” Wicket (Lonnie Donegan, Chris Barber).

While a dozen of the 18 tracks on the album were written by Steve Gibbons, and include such classics as ‘Johnny Cool’, ‘No Spitting On The Bus’, ‘Speed Kills’ and ‘Eddy Vortex’, other songwriters represented here include Bob Dylan, Chuck Berry, Dorsey & Johnny Burnette and Louis Jorda

Track List:

  1. Johnny Cool
  2. No Spitting On The Bus
  3. No Money Down
  4. Don’t Trade Me In
  5. Let There Be Bop
  6. The Chain
  7. Personal Problem
  8. Speed Kills
  9. Harley Davidson
  10. Triumph Bonneville
  11. Eddy Vortex
  12. From A Buick 6
  13. Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I’ll Go Mine)
  14. Buddy Holly
  15. Lemonade
  16. Believe What You Say
  17. After The Thrill
  18. Midnight Moon
© 2012 All Rights Reserved | contact us