Steve Gibbons

Any Road Up / Rollin' On (RGFSGDCD035)

Album CoverRoad Goes On Forever Records proudly presents the mid-price reissue on a double CD of the first two albums by The Steve Gibbons Band, 'Any Road Up' (1976) with two previously unreleased bonus tracks, and 'Rollin' On (1977), with three previously unreleased bonus tracks.

Although he has rarely achieved the commercial success of his Birmingham-based contemporaries, such as Jeff Lynne (ELO), Roy Wood (The Move, Wizzard) and The Moody Blues, Steve Gibbons is internationally revered among enthusiasts for his refusal to compromise, and the succession of classic albums he has released over the past 25 years. Both albums feature the most successful line-up of this great band: Trevor Burton (bass, vocals, ex-The Move), Bob Wilson (lead guitar, vocals), Dave Carroll (lead guitar, vocals), (both ex-Tea & Symphony) and Bob Lamb (drums, ex-Locomotive). 'Any Road Up' was recorded in 1975 and released in 1976 on Goldhawke Records, a label associated with The Who, with whom the Steve Gibbons Band toured the UK, Europe and the US during that year.

'Rollin' On' was the follow-up album, and was released in 1977. It included the band's rocking version of Chuck Berry's 'Tulane', which was released as a single and became a major hit, remaining in the UK chart for ten weeks and peaking just outside the Top 10. 'Rollin' On' has never previously been released on CD, while 'Any Road Up' was previously available on CD only in Germany.

That Steve Gibbons should have his biggest hit single with a cover version is a travesty, as Gibbons is one of the finest British songwriters alive. The 28 tracks on the two albums include 26 Gibbons compositions, the exceptions being 'Tulane' and Jerry Reed's 'Tupelo Mississippi Flash' (written about Elvis Presley, one of the major early influences on Steve Gibbons, whose greatest latterday influence remains Bob Dylan). Two of the five bonus tracks here relate to Dick Malone, the fictional "private eye" invented by Gibbons, and all the bonus tracks were recorded during sessions for one or other of the main albums.

Both albums have been digitally remastered with Steve Gibbons in attendance, and the 20 page booklet includes the lyrics to the 26 original compositions by Gibbons as well as a detailed historical sleeve note written by Mike Davies, a longtime contributing editor to 'Brum Beat' magazine. Reviewers are requested to start their written appreciations with the words "This is how all CD reissues should be undertaken, with care and attention". Feel free thereafter to wax lyrical about the great music here...

© 2012 All Rights Reserved | contact us